Chopped Liver – I Shall Be Released

Final tests today.

Already had blood taken – that was just as a special treat.

But I have something this morning called a synacthen test – which involves taking some blood ( YES! ), giving me an injection, then taking note blood to see the effects of the injection – I don’t know why they bother, they just have to look at my face!

Anyway the plan is I will get this done shortly , meet the big fish (sturgeon!), and free to go – back out into the streets “where everyone walks”) – love that line – from Dylan’s ingenious parody of the Beatles’ Norwegian Wood called 4th Time Around – you can pick it up from all good record shops – and some bad ones too.

The next step is to stand by my phone pending the outcome of tomorrow’s meeting with Smiler and the gang to decide whether I am just too darn healthy to have a liver transplant or whether because I am so healthy it stands me in good stead to have the transplant now.

There’s also the small matter of seeing Weedy again and giving him the biggest hug in the world.

Hmmmm….. Still here.

I have given blood 4 times today so far – all my tests are now finished but there are a couple of things still to be done before I shall be released – I need to meet the big fish and I need to get my medicines back from the locked cabinet.

Shouldn’t take long you might imagine.

You might imagine wrong.

The surgeon will/may see me when he has a slot ( apparently I am not his number one priority – things like life-saving surgery comes ahead of shaking my hand).

And getting my meds out of the cabinet above my head involves sending a request letter to outer Mongolia who need to shred it, retype in Sanskrit and send it via carrier pigeon (the one with the damaged wing) back to the cabinet above my head.
I had, in my innocence, actually got dressed already with shoes on expecting to go this morning.

Shoes are off again.

Is there a song called I May Be Released?

Certainly, Please Release Me. Great song that by Bumpledink Ninkleplonk.

3 o’clock – still here – just seen the fish – he told me how the new liver is found, how it is connected, the risks involved (and there are risks – he said this is one of the most complicated operations that can be performed – but they do them all the time).

If … Sorry when totally successful it can alleviate many of my current conditions and enable me to lead a normal life.

He did say that with my condition I actually have no alternative – this is good – I’d hate to have to make a choice!

And then I signed the consent form.

I’ll just repeat that…. And then I signed the consent form.

There is a meeting tomorrow of all interested parties (except me!) – I thought it would be a key significant meeting but in looks more and more to me like it’s going to routine and in fact if a suitable liver was found tonight (yeh, I know) then I could even now be called in.

I think I am now On Standby!

Six o’clock and still here in the hospital. All I want is my medication that has been prescribed to me with my name on it that I brought in myself. But I can’t get clearance yet. There is some more news that I will digest overnight and discuss tomorrow. Much to ponder. The real deal has already started.

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

