Chopped Liver – For Jason

Jason died today.

When I embarked on this blog journey, I decided it had to be a full account – warts an’ all. I knew there would be good times and I knew there would be bad times – but I had to write about both.

As you know I spent much of the last 2 weeks in a hospital ward – the second of which I shared with Jason – a lovely, genuine guy in his late 30’s who had a liver condition with serious complications. In that short time we became close friends. We shared stories, shared laughter, shared pain. We shared optimisim. We shared a love for our young children. We discussed the finer points of football. About liver transplants. We even stayed up once till 1 o’clock in the morning telling jokes – like naughty schoolboys.

I desperately do not want to trivialise Jason’s life by reducing him to a page in a blog. I only knew him a very short time. He brightened up the short time I knew him – and I hope I helped to make his last few days, in some small way, pleasurable.

Rest In Peace, Jason.

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

7 Comments on “Chopped Liver – For Jason”

  1. aviva Says:

    One of the ways our lives have meaning is when people remember us when we die. Thanks to your blog I know of Jason and he will be remembered by me.

  2. Phoebe Kallin Says:

    I have no doubt you did. Sad reading today.

  3. Mum and Me Says:

    We are very saddened to read this and admire your philosophical outlook; we’ll ‘phone you Saturday night as we are going out on Sunday.

  4. Julie Moore-Martin Says:

    Thanks for your kind words about my husband, nice to know that he brightened up your life as well as mine. He will be sadly missed.

  5. Elizabeth Claeson Says:

    Thank you David, I’m glad he made a close friend in those last few days. We miss him so much.
    I wish you all the best with your treatment x

  6. Elizabeth Claeson Says:

    Thanks for your words of kindness about my husband, Im glad that he brightened up your world as well as mine. He will be sadly missed.

  7. Matthew Moore-Martin Says:

    Jason was a beautiful person. I will miss my brother more than words can say. It’s comforting reading your words as I know that Jason found it extremely difficult being away from his family. I’m glad that you were there for each other.
    I wish you well.


Leave a Reply

