Chopped Liver – Good Enough

Is all publicity good publicity?

There’s a report out today that’s making headlines – it’s about the removal of people’s organs without prior consent – or perhaps, more accurately, with incorrect family wishes of the deceased being taken into account.

Now I have to try be objective about this – say, have a pre-Liver Transplant Need opinion and a Post one.

What would I have thought pre-condition? In all likelihood, I wouldn’t have been too bothered that people’s organs were removed without consent – my view has always been, once you’re dead, you should automatically offer your organs up to medical science or provide your organs to save someone else unless you specify (in advance, of course!) that you dont want to. But, wasn’t too bothered really as it didn’t affect me directly.

Post-Need? Well, I hold a similar view – except now I have a keener interest and am very interested to protect the goodwill of those who carry Donor cards and to attract more people to do same.

But how will this high-profile news affect matters. In my opinion, I think it’s a good thing that the very issue of Donor Card carrying is once again brought to the forefront of people’s thoughts, regardless of the issues involved in the news item.

Do I think people are less likely to remain or become potential donors? No I do not think it will matter a jot.

So there we have it – in a nutshell. The fact that the story has negative connotations is less important than the fact that the story is headline news.

Do you agree?

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

One Comment on “Chopped Liver – Good Enough”

  1. ken Says:

    Totally agree. Though I’d go with the “opt out” default policy rather than the “opt in”.


Leave a Reply

