Chopped Liver – Bits ‘n’ Pieces

I’ve talked about this before – but it’s worth repeating – especially as we don’t have an opt-out policy in this country.

Before I had a liver problem, I didn’t really give the issue of organ donation much thought. Had we an opt-out policy I would not have minded at all, but to actively carry a donor card – I just never got round to it.

My apathy – or laziness – may have changed once I heard this incredible story. A young girl from Essex, 17 years old Jodie Willan, future ahead of her etc etc, was taken to hospital with tonsilitis. Her condition had complications and she developed meningitis and soon after she tragically died.

But she became a posthumous donor – her parents donated her kidneys, pancreas and liver and these organs saved the lives of 4 people.

A story like this fills me with all sorts of emotions – but it is a story I wanted to share with you – maybe it’ll be the catalyst for you to consider carrying a donor card.

You can read Jodie’s story here

You can donate to the British Liver Trust here

You can carry a donor card here

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

2 Comments on “Chopped Liver – Bits ‘n’ Pieces”

  1. David Fernando Says:

    Thanks for the push. Just registered to be a donor. Hadn’t even occurred to me that it could be done online.


Leave a Reply

