Chopped Liver – It’s My Party

I’m not a big fan of surprise birthday parties. But not totally against them. Given the choice? I’d say don’t bother.

But a small family tea with close family – that would be fine. Anyway, this week was notable for a couple of events.

1) We were hosting a small family tea today.

2) It’s my birthday this week.

Now, I swear – honestly, I had not made a connection between the two events. We often host small family teas – nothing unusual about that.

But this morning, Weedy made some innoccuous comment – so inoccuous (I do hope I spelt that word correctly, cos I’ve gone and used it twice), anyway, so innoccuous (oops, there it goes again) that I can’t even remember what it was.

So now I got to thinking – oh no, it’s not going to be a surprise birthday party today, is it? That’s strange, I haven’t smelt a rat. Not an inkling. Brilliantly done by B.

HaPpY bIRtHdAy tO mE!!!

Inspired.

If it’s true, that is.

But maybe it’s not . Maybe it’s just a small family tea.

Anyway B has to go out shopping late morning.

That’s not unusual. B goes out shopping at this time every single week. Hmmm… well, we’ll see what she comes back with.

Two hours later, B comes back. Hmmm… nothing unusual looking there. The cake and sundries – should there be any sundries – must have already been bought and been strategically concealed in a unique and innovative hiding place in the house.

Guests arrive at 3pm. David is instructed to make the tea. Nothing unusual about that let me tell you – NOTHING AT ALL!

And we have a small family tea.

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

One Comment on “Chopped Liver – It’s My Party”

  1. Ken Says:

    Ah, so you did have a surprise party after all!

    k


Leave a Reply

