Chopped Liver – Please Relieve Me

Still Lovin’ it!

So B, Weedy and I went out to a summer fair (fayre?) and the wee boy had a great time – but he was playing with y’know sticks an’ stones an wotnot. Anyway, we left after a while and walked down the High St. a bit and we decided we wanted to relax with a nice cup of afternoon tea and a piece of cake.

We found a lovely looking cafe with a fine array of scrummy cakes and we sat down on some comfy chairs.

What could possibly go wrong?

I stood up and took Weedy to the counter and asked where the toilet was.

“We don’t have a toilet”.

eh... a cup of pee, tlease?

“I’m sorry?”

“We don’t have a toilet for customers”.

“But my boy is dirty – I need to wash his hands”.

“Can’t he wash his hands in that sink then?”, I asked, pointing to that sink wot they wash the dishes in.

“It’s not for customers”.

She then ignored me and went to serve a take-away customer who had just popped in. I, of course, interjected – “I’m sorry, I didn’t think we had finished our conversation – I would like to wash my hands prior to sitting in your cafe enjoying your cake”.

The exchange became more heated and I was read some landlord legislation section 34 (b) para 232 that proved they didn’t have to provide yada yada yada – and my attitude was questioned. My attitude? What about her attitude – actually that reminds me of the punchline to another joke – but I’ll save that for another day.

So my question is: Are cafe owners obliged to provide toilet and/or hand-washing facilities if they expect people to come in and partake of their food? Call me old-fashioned, but to me, it is nothing less than a basic necessity.

If you want to register to donate your organs after you’ve gone – CLICK HERE

If you want to give a donation to my JustGiving charity page in the British Liver Trust – CLICK HERE

If you want to play the Liver Let Live Game – CLICK HERE

Or if you’re unsure and simply want to grow your business through thebestof Barnet – I will donate your first 2 months fees to my Liver Charity CLICK HERE

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

Leave a Reply

