Chopped Liver – Neil Jung

Neil Jung. It really is a song title. It’s a brilliant song too – by Glasgow band Teenage Fanclub. An homage to the great man.

I don’t know why it is that my favourite artisits/bands are those that many would describe as “dreary”, “dull”, “sad” – even “suicidal” – yet they make me so happy.

Dylan, Young, Morrison, Nick Cave, Mark e Smith, Cohen!!!, the whole Alternative Country movement, Cowboy Junkies – you get the picture. Stick me on a desert island with all that music and I would be a happy bunny (till I realised I had nowhere to plug the record player into!)

So, tonight – Sky Arts channel is showing 3 hours of Neil Young. And I intend to watch it all.

You are Like a Hurricane - there's calm in your eyes!

I challenge you – if you can think of any artist alive or dead who has consistently made music of such high quality for over 40 years – pandering to no-one, continually breaking new boundaries and still being so creatively relevant today – I would like to hear who.

I don’t believe he exists.

If you want to give a donation to my JustGiving charity page in the British Liver Trust – CLICK HERE

If you want to play the Liver Let Live Game – CLICK HERE

Or if you’re unsure and simply want to grow your business through thebestof Barnet – I will donate your first 2 months fees to my Liver Charity CLICK HERE

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

Leave a Reply

