Chopped Liver – Here Comes The Supernatural Anaesthetist

Prog rockers amongst you may know that tune – from The Lamb. Past readers of this blog may remember my fondness for the album – I used to listen to it regularly when I was about 15, and study the sleeve notes with a fine tooth comb. I knew that one time hero of mine, Eno – formerly of Roxy Music – subsequent noodler and producer had something to do with this album, but what exactly it was, I hadn’t a clue.

But I did manage to detect his dulcet tones for about about 3 seconds at the end of this little ditty and I innocently thought that was his sole contribution to the music. Needless to say I know now that he probably had his signature noodling scattered throughout.

But why this piece of music for today’s post? Well, it’s because last night I was reminded of a true story that happened to me when I was 14 years old. I had just been diagnosed with Crohns Disease and had to have an operation to remove some of my small intestine. I was wheeled into the operating theatre and met the surgeon, the nurses and the anaesthetist.

no, no, not ready yet, hold it ...zzzzzzz

The latter chap (can’t be arsed writing anaesthetist again) stuck the needle in and as he was administering the magic sleeping potion, he asked me “So, David, what school do you go to?” I told him the answer. “And, do you like it there?” he followed up – whereupon I answered, “well, it zzzzzzzz”. And I was out.

For many years later – about 20 to be precise I had often thought I was rude not answering him. When I was about 35, I was visiting my grandmother in an old age home. It must have been some celebration day, as my whole family were present, including my dad, who said to me… “David? You see that man over there? He was the anaesthetist at your first operation”.

This floored me – not because he was there as an inpatient in the home – the Glasgow Jewish community is fairly small and tight knit, so Jewish people tend to know each other. No, this floored me as I had a chance, finally, to lay to rest one of my life’s regrets – that I hadn’t answered the man the question about my school.

So, I made a bee-line for him, went straight up to him and said, “Yes, school’s good, thanks for asking”!

If he thought I used to be rude – then now he thought I was raving mad!

Now there… are 3…. steps to … carry a donor card – ooh, wah wah!
Just follow steps 1, 2 and 3.

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

Leave a Reply

