Chopped Liver – Embarrassment

Totally non-descript day today. Nothing happened.

It was supposed to be an all action-packed day going on a nature trail in …. Hounslow (yeh, ask B), back in time for lunch (lol!) and then off to Hertfordshire for a steam train ride – ok ok , c’mon pick yourselves up off the floor – look, geography was never B’s strongpoint – I guess scheduling wasn’t high up there either.

Look, I know I’m so gonna be in trouble for that last paragraph – exclamations of “right, from now on, you sort it out!” “See if we even leave the house” “You’ll just stay in and watch football”. Ahhhhh, she knows me so well.

But I had to write something today – after all, as I said, nothing of any note whatsoever happened today – at all.

Well, ‘cept that’s not quite true. Weedy and I left in the morning with scooter (not a pet name for a dog – just Weedy’s scooter) and went off to the park then onwards to the vast reservoir known as the Welsh Harp – which is neither a harp nor anywhere near Wales.

And off we went – all the way down the path till finally reaching the Garden Centre at the end where we had lunch and fed the massive fish and read books about London, Britain etc. Until, I realised we had to get back quickly to embark on our Hertfordshire adventure.

So we left the garden centre and went down the … eh, road – as there is no pavement – presumably people without cars do not come here – and we had to walk on the grass verge to avoid the oncoming vehicles.

I didn’t notice the hole in the ground. I went over on my ankle, couldn’t maintain my balance and went… what was the phrase I used on Tuesday?… em… flying, I think it was. This time I went more “rolling” and “tumbling” (surely a song title missed?) landing on my already bruised hip, stopping my fall with … my already aching left hand.

So for the second time in a week I had lost my footing and fallen pretty heavily. Now, I hear you cry, once is unfortunate, but twice well that’s just plain carelessness. Or are you having senior moments already? And do these things occur in threes?

This time, however, I was not on my own. No. My terrified 6 year old boy was with me. He helped me up. Said I’d be alright. Asked me why I fell again. Said I was very brave. He then informed me that he will cheer me up.

Aw, thanks son. How are you going to do that then? “I am going to make you laugh”. Aw, sweet. Go on then.

And then he starts singing in a “funny voice” – ” Nether, Whether, Ever, Liver…”

Eh, thanks son – you’re doing a fine job.

Now there… are 3…. steps to… carry a donor card – ooh, wap wap!
Just follow steps 1, 2 and 3.

Explore posts in the same categories: british liver trust, just giving, Liver Transplant, organ donor, royal free

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Chopped Liver – Embarrassment”

  1. hepababe Says:

    Break a match,if you know what that means ?

  2. Mark W Says:

    You must try to stay upright it is the preferred way to achieve liver transplant.Joking aside, hope you are okay and recovery of equilibrium follows quickly.
    best wishes
    Mark

  3. Michael Says:

    Surely it’s time for an Elvis Costello song;

    1. I can’t stand up for falling down.

    2. You tripped at every step.

  4. hepababe Says:

    I was always told as a child that accidents or things breaking come in threes ie 2 bad things so you cause the third yourself!Hope it works.Apart from that possible nonsence my thoughts are with you.


Leave a Reply

