Chopped Liver – Week In The Presence of … Medics

I have a busy week ahead. Not just on the business front – which could be pivotal, but also on the medical front – which probably won’t be pivotal.

Firstly, I have to decide whether to go privately to see a Physiotherapist – my thigh continues to ache – my walking still restricted – is it getting better of its own accord? I dunno – sometimes I think its easing… then it gets bad again. So, I guess I ought to see someone.

Wednesday I have an appointment with the Gastro man – usual shit.

Wednesday is also a visit to the dentist – hey don’t knock it – last time I visited the dentist I ended up on the Liver Transplant list! It’s true. He identified a tooth that needed removing, I mentioned my platelets, he contacted Smiler (now that is what I should have called my dentist! Not my liver consultant – but Smiler is Smiler), who checked my latest scans, spotted a blood clot in the portal vein, called me in – and the rest is… well the rest is in this blog)

Thursday I have an appointment with… Smiler himself. I may have to ask him the question he gets asked by everyone on his list – but one that I have been reluctant to ask – that being where am I on the list? After all, it’s been over 6 months – and 6 months is the average waiting time – so I am right up there? Or can I forget about it again for another few months – I have been getting so blase (with an acute over the “e”) that I wont get the call – that I sometimes think I really wont get the call – and boy will I get a shock when I do get the call). Oh, how I wish they’d find something to make them re-think.

Ha! More chance of it stopping raining.

Now there… are 3…. steps to… carry a donor card – ooh, wap wap!
Just follow steps 1, 2 and 3.

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

Leave a Reply

