Chopped Liver – Fame

The Bowie song – not that garb from Irene Cara – no, that’s not me.

But this weekend I reached for the Stars – hey isn’t that also a son…. no let’s not go there either.

I got a call on Saturday afternoon from the kind peeps at The British Liver Trust who, when asked who the Indy on Sunday should speak to about stem cell research into creating new livers from skin cells, they should volunteer my good self. Not that I know anything about that particlular subject y’unnerstan’, but as someone waiting for a love… sorry, liver – I was the kind of peep they wanted to talk to.

So, here’s the article with quotes, for anyone who missed it – Scientists grow human livers in laboratory The printed form had my scary-for-Halloween photo alongside.

And so this has led me to the heights of stardom. Tonight I went to the most amazing of street festivals with friends of ours in the Suburbs – Halloween – and the whole area – and beyond – came out – all dressed up – to join in the countless parties – all centering around TV Personality, Wossy’s, house – where the man himself had laid on the most wonderful entertainment – jugglers, stilted monsters, candy floss stall and loads of peeps just hanging out in his cramped front driveway – and then, just as I arrive, Wossy, obviously an avid Indy on Sunday reader, must have recognised me from my photo in said newspaper, appeared in front of his house, dressed as Satan, and posed for photos with ONLY ME!!!

a wight, wollicking wave-up in Wossy's dwiveway

(and dozens of others, I guess – including a very excited wife of mine).

You know, in this day and age of trouble and strife, hatred and fear, distrust and general loathing of our neighbours (no, not the ones with parcel – be serious!) it was so refreshing and warm to feel unrestrained joy in the streets of London.

I will take note from Mr. Wossy – and treat my new-found stardom with humility, compassion and understanding – in the knowledge that, in all likelihood, by this time tomorrow I may well be back in the obscurity to which I have been accustomed.

Now there… are 3…. steps to… carry a donor card – ooh, wap wap!
Just follow steps 1, 2 and 3.

Explore posts in the same categories: british liver trust, just giving, Liver Transplant, organ donor

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Chopped Liver – Fame”

  1. lilsophie Says:

    Can I have your autograph?

  2. Mark Witcher Says:

    Well you have arrived in the higher entertainment circles now! You will be needing a agent if this continues joking aside I am really happy for you and your family, there are few positives in these situations this would seem to be one of them.Enjoy:)

    • davidkallin Says:

      Mark – such an absolute pleasure to hear from you on my bloglet. If I ever need an agent – you’re the man! Hope you’re feeling better and stronger with each day that passes.

  3. Simon Says:

    Everyone is famous for 15 minutes ?

  4. Mike Says:

    Who are you again?


Leave a Reply

