Chopped Liver – Transformer Man

Well I dreamed I saw the dogs in armour coming...

(It’s a Neil Young song – from his “vocoder” era).

What? You mean you don’t know Neil Young’s Vocoder era? Shame on You. There’s a neat little story that goes with this – I don’t even know if it’s true or not – but, hey hey my my – why let the truth get in the way of a good story.

Neil had all his success on the Warner Bros. / Reprise label. But there was a dispute or whatever – anyway David Geffen came along and allegedly used his not inconsiderate wealth and muscle and signed him on a 5-album deal in the mid-80’s. Neil, of course, insisted on full artistic control. And so he used this period to, how shall we say, experiment. He brought out a dull country album, a straight rock n roll record, and this weird vocoder stuff that sounded, well, at best, futuristic (though we still have not reached that future) and, at worst – nothing at all like Neil Young.

Anyway, the story goes that after the first LP was released Geffen said to Neil that he was not best pleased as the record sounds nothing like a Neil Young record. Neil responded, allegedly (or I made it up), with something like – No Problem Dave, I’ll put out another 4 just like it – then they will sound like Neil Young records.

Which brings me to the reason I call this post Transformer Man. It is a nod to the great @ukcybernaut Twitter buddy of mine – who is recovering from a double lung transplant. He tweeted and blogged about his life waiting for the op, right up to sitting in the hospital waiting to be sedated prior to the op. Had his daughter keep Twitterland updated as to his progress while he was in ICU, and is now back tweeting and blogging himself again.

Hey, I make it all sound so easy and matter of fact – I can assure you – not that I know – that this is one helluva feat. And Mark, for he has a real name, recently entered a “competition” to be recognised as a Golden Tweeter and came a highly creditable 3rd out of 183.

I suggested to Mark, that perhaps he should have considered a TRIPLE lung transplant if he was really serious about winning that competition but I don’t think he was too keen…

But it does give us transplant-type peeps something to shout about, something to publicise, something to help raise awareness about donating organs – so please do whatever you can to help raise awareness – even if it just means that you will pass on the details of my blog or Mark’s blog (Take a Breath and Say 99).

There are many many others waiting for similar operations – some, like @asu_juliette who has been waiting for 4 years.

And finally, Anita asks what the ooh wap wap in the link below means. Anita! I am shocked. Dismayed. Saddened. You know, if I didn’t know you better I may even have felt it necessary to explain to you – but not you… nooooo wap wap!

Now there… are 3…. steps to… carry a donor card – ooh, wap wap!
Just follow steps 1, 2 and 3.

Explore posts in the same categories: just giving, Liver Transplant, organ donor

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

