Chopped Liver – Boom Bang-a-Bang

Is it me or has the firework season been a bit of a damp squib this year? Wasn’t there so much more interest about Halloween. Is this another example of the UK being the 51st State of America?

We commemorate 5th November, or Fireworks Day, or Bonfire Night, or Guy Fawkes Day to remember, bizarrely the actions of a man who broke into the Houses of Parliament with a bag of dynamite intending to blow the place up, but got caught in the act – some say Guy Fawkes was the only man in history to enter the Houses of Parliament with HONEST intentions – I couldn’t possibly comment.

But I remember over the years, and as a child that in the days, nay weeks, leading up to the 5th November there were firework BOOMS in the night sky all the time – now, and despite the fact that it coincides with Diwali, it just hasn’t happened.

It’s happening right now – at 9:00pm – but I sat staring out from our lofty perch with Weedy, looking across the skyline of North-West London between 7 and 7:30 and it was quiet. Contrast that to our experiences last week at Halloween and the difference is striking.

The reason? We like dressing up and acting-out in scary gory costumes – mostly in twopence-halfpenny masks and outfits from Asda – so great fun/little expense.

...ffffssssssss.....

Contrast that with an event we no longer identify with and where fireworks cost an absolute fortune, are extremely dangerous, unpleasant for pets, and last for barely a nano-second. Boom. Flash – there goes another fiver!

I will be taking Weedy to a local display tomorrow night – give him a taste of it.

Oh.. and my Liver? Well, you may not be surprised to know that I have not, as yet, been called to the hospital to receive my new liver – but I am going in on Monday for a routine MRI scan. I will soon start fretting about the cannula.

Now there… are 3…. steps to… carry a donor card – ooh, wap wap!
Just follow steps 1, 2 and 3.

Explore posts in the same categories: british liver trust, just giving, Liver Transplant, organ donor, royal free

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Chopped Liver – Boom Bang-a-Bang”

  1. maria de witte Says:

    I never had a canulla for my MRI scans of the liver. Maybe you do not need it.You need one for a CT scan. I really hope you will get away without a canula.I use emla cream to num te skin before a heave my bloods done.You can always ask for emla cream if you prefer that. Hope that you will be soon have a transplant. I know how difficult the period of waiting is. Best greetings


Leave a Reply

