Chopped Liver – Lose This Skin

We went to a Chanukkah Bazaar today at the local synagogue – How Bizarre is that???

How Bizarre?

How Bizarre, How Bizarre. Why did I not call this blogpost How Bizarre?

Well anyway, it’s nice to show support, get Weedy a few little nik naks, and generally show my face.

And that is the point of this post. It’s the showing of my face.

You see, we met a couple… well, I say a couple, when we last met them they were a couple, but now they are a family of four – including a 6 year-old son called Daniel. Obviously not the same name as my son – who, as everyone knows, is Weedy.

So, B is chatting to the hubby and I am chatting to the wifey – and just as she is saying to me – “So How are you all?”, hubby is also asking B “So, How are you all?”

And just as I am saying – we’re all fine thanks and how are you? B is saying, well David needs a liver transplant.

My cover blown, I confirm same to my audience, and she replies – you know, I used to be a nurse and the moment I saw you I could see it from your skin – I could see that you are jaundiced.

Jaundiced... moi?


I guess I shouldn’t be that surprised – after all, I am jaundiced – hey, I need a liver transplant – of course I am jaundiced – and of course it would show up in my skin – for those who know what to look for I guess. But, y’know, I had thought it just showed up in my eyes. I had started mastering the art of talking to people without engaging in eye contact so they wouldn’t see my yellow eyes – but it was all in vain – it’s written all over my skin.

Now there… are 3…. steps to… carry a donor card – ooh, wap wap!
Just follow steps 1, 2 and 3.

Explore posts in the same categories: british liver trust, just giving, Liver Transplant, organ donor

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Chopped Liver – Lose This Skin”

  1. hepababe Says:

    Hmmm.What to say?Your humour is strong,you will handle anything your illness throws at you.


Leave a Reply

