Chopped Liver – Top Priority

Probably not the most appropriate title for this post. However, for many reasons, it could be the most appropriate.

Top Proiority is the name of an album by iconic Irish blues-guitarist-songwriter Rory Gallagher.

Today I phoned up my transplant coordinator to get the result of my MRI scan. The good news was that the blood clot in my portal vein had not moved. Had it moved, it could have been critical.

However, I guess a combination of time on the list, potential criticality of the blood clot moving, and whatever else I may not have been told, I am now Top Priority for my weight, height and blood group.

As I am exactly average weight and height for the male population of the UK – and I have the universal recipient blood group type – that kinda indicates that I may be called soon. Whatever that means.

Anyway, I have raised my internal alarm system from a mildly jaundiced yellow to a bile-duct-obstructed-deep-orange-urine colour.

pistol-slappin' blues

And the relevance of me choosing Top Priority by Rory Gallagher? Well, Rory lived the Rock n Roll lifestyle – bit too much booze, not enough of this, too much of the other. And about 15 years ago his liver failed and he was rushed through to receive a liver transplant in a London hospital.

It all went successfully.

That is, until he was soon to be discharged – when he contracted MRSA and Rory Gallagher joined the great gig in the sky.

So, an appropriate anecdote for a day like this? You decide.

Now there… are 3…. steps to… carry a donor card – ooh, wap wap!
Just follow steps 1, 2 and 3.

Explore posts in the same categories: british liver trust, just giving, Liver Transplant, organ donor

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Chopped Liver – Top Priority”

  1. hepababe Says:

    I am so relieved for you.Pack your bag and don’t forget your pants and shoes!

  2. sawbofeller Says:

    Fingers crossed mate, I’m seeing Smiler et al on the 30th, could pop in and see you on the ward if you’re in and you need a bit of company.

    Just think, you could have had the op and be back on your feet and be eating really shite hospital food by then ! Luckily, there’s a Marks and Sparks next door that does some decent scoff – you’ll need to chat up one of the nurses to get it for you.

    • davidkallin Says:

      Hey Sawbo – do you really think it’s going to happen that quick? I’m still in denial – and don’t intend coming out of it till the New Year.

      • sawbofeller Says:

        I really don’t want to give you false hope but I’d be a little more expectant now. Why would they say nothing for seven ? months but now say you’re near to top of the list ?

        They’re ( the Docs. )not in the business of giving people false hope so perhaps this may have been some kind of small indication.

        Who knows? you’ll only find out for sure when it happens. Keep the faith and be positive.

        I still owe you doughnuts from our World Cup predictions, how about double or quits that you get the call before Christmas ? Don’t forget I’d wriiten things off till the New Year and got called on December 16th so who knows.

        Keep blogging away.

      • davidkallin Says:

        I’m not sure my old liver could stand double donuts! But happy to take on the challenge.

  3. Ken Says:

    What do you reckon, a new liver in time for the Supercuparoonie?


Leave a Reply

