Chopped Liver – Top Of The Pops

Just been following up on that story from last week, where a liver for transplant got caught up in a plane crash on the tarmac at Birmingham Airport.

The consultant at the hospital has confirmed that the recipient would certainly have died had he not received that liver. This is because he was a “super-urgent” case.

A “super-urgent” case is one where the next available and viable liver found anywhere on the UK mainland is allocated to the recipient, regardless of his location in the country. Undoubtedly because the patient only has days left to live.

But where does that leave me?

How many levels away from super-urgent am I? More importantly, do i need to get that far? Y’see, as far as I am aware, I am a “priority” case.

Is there a “High Priority” case? How about a Top Priority case? Or an urgent one? A very urgent one? An extremely urgent one? A super-urgent one.

In short, I really have no idea as to my timescale or my urgency. Never had. May never will. I am still on the rollercoaster.

And I’m just going along for the ride – it’s better this way – I don’t want to be super-urgent. Just super.

Now there… are 3…. steps to… carry a donor card – ooh, wap wap!
Just follow steps 1, 2 and 3.

Explore posts in the same categories: british liver trust, just giving, Liver Transplant, organ donor

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Chopped Liver – Top Of The Pops”

  1. hepababe Says:

    Your time will come and I agree.Be super,rather than super-urgent!

  2. sawbofeller Says:

    Super urgent is quite often the status when the original graft is rejected very soon after transplant.

    Have a look on Wiki for something called a Meld Score – it could give you a few pointers.

  3. Ken Says:

    That was a good tip from Sawbo. I’m sure we can work it into the cuparoonie rules.


Leave a Reply

