Chopped Liver – It’s The End Of The Year As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)

I look at my stats. What do I see?

275 blog posts published since March.

I think to myself – now that is some achievement. That is a lot of blog posts. I should feel proud.

And then I think to myself – what exactly does each one of these blog posts represent? Well, give or take the odd missed day or two, each one represents one day that I have been waiting for my liver transplant.

275!!!

(276 – once I hit the “Publish” button on this one).

That’s a lot of days to be waiting. A lot of days to have this hanging over me – and my family. A lot of days of uncertainty over the future – holidays not booked, businesses given up, impending major operations – and, not forgetting, what I fear most, countless needles trying to find veins once I have had my operation.

But I have coped so far. And I will continue to cope. And I should be grateful that, despite this being the end of the year – I do feel fine.

I suppose therein lies the dichotomy – if I didn’t feel fine, then I may well have received the new liver by now – but there are evidently people in greater need for the few livers available, that I am deemed worthy of simply carrying on.

Careful with that liver, Eugene


I would like to end my year of posting by saying a huge Thank You to all of you who have read my blog, continue to read my blog, have commented on it – it is good to know you are out there.

I’d like to wish everyone well – and a big out to those who have received the ultimate gift and are getting used to their new life (@ukcybernaut for example) and to those of you who I have come to know through the world of Twitterland who have had or are waiting – try to be positive.

Happy New Year.

Now there… are 3…. steps to… carry a donor card – ooh, wap wap!
Just follow steps

Explore posts in the same categories: british liver trust, just giving, Liver Transplant, organ donor

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Chopped Liver – It’s The End Of The Year As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)”

  1. Denise Says:

    The hardest bit is waiting. On 5th January 2011 I will have been on the list for a year but I like you think that I am still waiting as there are others worse then me.
    So the race is still on. All the best for 2011 keep up the blogs – love them.
    best wishes
    Denise Lamberth
    (Stockport)

    • davidkallin Says:

      Thanks for your continued support Denise – I desperately need this transplant as I am running out of bloggin’ ideas!

      And what’s the point of a bloggin’ blog if I can’t think of a bloggin’ thing to bloggin’ write!


Leave a Reply

