Chopped Liver – I’m Not There

Welcome to my 300th Chopped Liver blog post.

That’s some achievement.

Given the circumstances, that is.

I expected, from what I was originally led to believe, that there would be, say, between 90 and 180 pre-transplant posts. In other words, I would be called within 6 months. But, 300 represents, well, give or take the handful or so of missed days, a few weeks short of one calendar year.

Now, that is some considerable time to be hangin’ on waiting for THAT call – that call that never came. YET.

So what did we do today? Well, Weedy has been poorly all last week – including a very traumatic febrile convulsion – traumatic for us, not for him – as he was oblivious. In fact he was oblivious of his own existence.
Maybe I’ll do a post on febrile convulsions in the future – there are some things you should know.

But today, I want to talk about our first venture out for a week – to the Victoria and Albert museum.

B thought Weedy would love it. I was less than convinced – but then none of us had ever been so bring it on.

Look, I’ll skip the detailed descriptions of the countless rooms filled with artefacts from all over the world – it’s just not really my thing. If it is your thing, then I’m sure it’s the best thing of its’ type in the world, but it’s not mine.

But what is my thing is a luvverly cuppa tea and a piece o’ cake on the side. And when I say that the V&A has by far the best tea room I have ever ever seen – EVER! – I am not exagerrating.

Listen Guys ‘n’ Gals, if you want to impress – seriously – you could a lot worse. I have!

But why the title of this post? It’s not just an homage to that wonderful film about the life of Bob Dylan, it’s about how I felt at one point of my memorable tea break. So impressed was B with the decor, she decided she wanted a photo of her enjoying the experience.

Now, the tea room, despite its vastness, was packed – but the tables are big enough to allow us to share with others and still keep our privacy. So, we had 3 chairs (hip hip hooray!) on one side of a round table.

B says she wants this photo and asks me to take it.

The ceiling of the V&A tea room - well, I couldn't find a chair to take

B stands up and poses between 2 pillars. I stand up and take the photo. Man comes up and says to B, “Is this chair free?” B replies without any hesitation, “Oh yes!”.

Post photo shoot, she goes back to the table and sits on the now only free chair left, while I am left standing.

A word of warning.

If you decide to take my advice and invite a potential loved one to this tea room for a smoochy afternoon cuppa – do not give up her chair to a total stranger.

Now there… are 3…. steps to… carry a donor card – ooh, wap wap!
Just follow steps

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant, organ donor

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Chopped Liver – I’m Not There”

  1. Fiona Says:

    As you know from my blog Hep B is the background to my liver disease. In the absence of any Hep B forums I follow a couple of Hep C ones, as my complications of cirrhosis and HCC are common to both.
    There are a handful of pre and post transplant stories on the Hep C forums. Two recent success stories, one had his TP within a month of going on ‘the list’, the other in 2 weeks. Both at ‘Jimmy’s’ in Leeds though doubt that is significant? Both still have active Hep C but are doing well. I guess a Hep C+ patient can accept a transplant from a Hep C+ donor, perhaps it widens the pool. I cant imagine how it feels to wait so long, are there blood group limitations/complications or such.

    • davidkallin Says:

      Have you written to The British Liver Trust – they are always happy to hear patients’ stories and would gladly publish your story either online and/or in their publication? I have their contact details if needed.

      • Denise Says:

        I under “jimmy’s” in Leeds and I have been on the waiting list for just over a year now. I was told last Wednesday (26th Jan) that I may have to wait another year or even 2 as I have 0 blood group and apparently livers from O donors can be used for every blood type. I have AIH.

        I have been unable to work for over a year, sleep about 15 hours during the day but that has not moved me further up the list.

        Just as an aside I used to work at the V&A in their correspondence department – its an amazing place but at the age of 16 I just didn’t appreciate it.

      • davidkallin Says:

        Sorry to hear that, Denise – 1 or 2 years. I am also blood group O and am aware of the shortage for this group – it’s definitely time for a change in the law for automatic opt-in. Chin Up.

      • Fiona Says:

        Hi David
        I’m a big fan of the British Liver Trust. I’m a lay reviewer for the cancer leaflet and have submitted (not yet published) ‘My Story’ for the liver cancer section of the website.
        Re the blood groups – I wonder if it makes a difference what blood group then? I’m A rhesus negative. I’ll ask the 2 guys I ‘follow’ who got speedy transplants what group they are.

        Denise. Sorry to hear about the AIH. I’m under investigation for that too as my SMA is sky high. Biopsy Friday to confirm or eliminate.

    • Denise Says:

      I under “jimmy’s” in Leeds and I have been on the waiting list for just over a year now. I was told last Wednesday (26th Jan) that I may have to wait another year or even 2 as I have 0 blood group and apparently livers from O donors can be used for every blood type. I have AIH.

      I have been unable to work for over a year, sleep about 15 hours during the day but that has not moved me further up the list.


Leave a Reply

