Chopped Liver – Upside Down

Cut a long story short for this one.

Woke after another sleepless night feeling apprehensive about my scheduled weekend release. It was dependent on my blood results.

They were fine. I grew stronger thru the day. B came to collect me and off we went.

I literally stepped foot in my home. Sat on the couch. And couldn’t take my jacket and scarf – I felt cold.

I went up to bed to lie down for a bit and started sweating.

I had developed a temperature.

I called the transplant coordinator and she confirmed my worst fears. Your short stay back was at an end.

I am now back in the hospital awaiting a lovely cannula to give me IV antibiotics.

Setbacks are inevitable I know but this was just a tad cruel.

I managed to see my boy who was very excited to see Daddy in the house – he’ll get a shock in the morning.

B is being very strong – it’s not easy.

But I am in good hands.

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

6 Comments on “Chopped Liver – Upside Down”

  1. Mark W Says:

    Don’t let it get you down I was home for a short while and got an infection had to go back for a while.You will sorted out and get home to your family soon enough.My thoughts go out to your family if must be hard for them.
    I have just spent a day in town with my family walking around no breathlessness took a while but I got there.Keep well it does get better.
    all the best Mark


  2. A dickie bird told me that the guy who makes all those noises in the bed next door couldn’t bear the thought of a quiet weekend without all your wit & humour.
    Take care David.
    Love Hayley

  3. Laurel Says:

    Sorry to hear your “outstay” did not go as planned. But there will be other opportunities soon I am sure.
    x

  4. Andrew Says:

    Saw this joke and just had to send it to you.

    Doctor: “Your wife’s in hospital”. Me: “How is she?”. Doctor: “I’m afraid she’s critical”. Me: “Ah, you get used to that…”


Leave a Reply

