Chopped Liver – Moving Away From The Pulsebeat

My temperature has been steadily coming down all day – probably as a consequence of the course IV antibiotics I’ve started.

It’s interesting to see from my chart that at one point when my temperature was at its highest (38.5 by hospital thermometer) so my pulse had doubled to 120. Sure signs that the body is maniacally fighting some infection.

I’ve had an ultrasound and chest X-ray and both are fine. So the source of the infection remains a mystery – to me anyway.

It could be CMV. I hope it is.

CMV is a liver virus that affects about half the population. It is easily treatable. Many will have this virus and not realise it. Others may feel unwell and seek medical help

Now I have never had CMV but… my transplanted liver has had it.

So it is more likely that I will get this virus and fairly soon after transplant.

Very sleepy now. Been a bit of an emotional day all told. Need to go to sleep now so that the nurse can wake me up to give my sleeping tablets.

Explore posts in the same categories: royal free

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Chopped Liver – Moving Away From The Pulsebeat”

  1. Fiona Says:

    I’m like that – looking at my hospital chart whenever poss!
    Hope they have managed to identify the virus. Had to look up CMV, fascinating (but not for you of course, sorry). What an amazingly complicated and complex thing transplantation is. I’m learning lots.


Leave a Reply

