Chopped Liver – Return (?)

Not a good day.

The plan – to get the hospital transport to get to my various outpatient appointments.

I had an appointment at 14:00 at the haemophilia clinic but prior to that I had to go to the blood room to give a few gallons. Following this I had my first scheduled outpatient clinic appointment with one of the consultants.

The transport people phoned me to confirm my booking and said I had to be ready for 10:30. My first appointment wasn’t till about 1:30 so that was a bit of a shock. Anyway, I got up, had a little bath and got dressed and ready for 10:30.

Folly.

11:00 came and went. As did 12:00. As did 13:00. I kept phoning and they kept saying it’s on it’s way. (yeah via Aberdeen).

Things took a turn for the worse when I started to feel chilled. I took my temperature and saw the dreaded digits squeeze past the figure of doom – 38 degs.

I packed my bag in preparation for another 5 days in hospital on IV antibiotics – and called a cab.

I got my bloods done. I had my haemophilia appointment. And I made my way to the clinic where they took my temperature and it was back down to normal.

But they would still want to investigate wouldn’t they? And so I met with doctor and he hastily arranged a CT scan for me.

It’s now 8:00 pm – and they have just given me the results of the scan and most of my bloods. All seemed fine.

So instead of me returning to the institution I appear to have made another great escape – only this time I’m going to hold off on the singing.

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

2 Comments on “Chopped Liver – Return (?)”

  1. maria de witte Says:

    Oh so sorry to read that the hospital transport is stil a shame!! When I had my OPD appointments they a NEVER came.Please do not rely on hospital transport, you will always miss your appointments. So sorry but you need to arrange own transport. Or sometimes they will really come 4 hours in advance and if not ready they will just leave.That happens to me the first time transport was arranged. Your story is so familiar!!!

  2. Sawbofeller Says:

    Totally agree with Maria. Transport at RFH is as much use as a chocolate teapot. Have at least half a dozen horror stories, worst one was a 4.5 hour journey home for a 35 mile trip. Went via St Johns Wood, Old St., West Ham, Dagenham, Southend and Chelmsford.

    If you can make your own way, do so. It will save you loads of time !


Leave a Reply

