Chopped Liver – I Got You Babe

If you’ve been following me for a bit you may remember I raised the possibility of me picking up CMV(Cytomegalovirus) following my transplant. I was given an 80% chance of getting it on account of the fact that I had never had it before BUT my donor, and therefore my liver, has had it.

This means that the virus has been introduced into my body and could have lain dormant – were it not for the fact that my immunity to infection is very low due to the high dosage of anti-rejection immuno-suppressant drugs I am taking – with me?

So, the CMV virus is unlikely to remain dormant – it will likely become active.

A couple of days ago, you may remember, I had a bit of a temperature – went to the hosp, had bloods, all seemed fine – except ….

the test for CMV takes a couple of days to come through.

Today the results came through. Positive. I have the virus.

I think this is a good thing. You only (usually) ever get it once in your life and then you are immune to it – even though the virus will remain dormant. It is treatable either by pills or intraveneously. I am having a go at the pills.

As I had an 80% of getting the thing anyway – at least now I can stop looking out for the signs of it – at least now I know that I have had it – oh, and now I know what caused my temperature of a couple of days ago.

So, unaccustomed as I am to rejoice in contracting a new virus, I think I can say on this one – I Got You Babe – now let’s move on.

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Chopped Liver – I Got You Babe”

  1. Ken Says:

    Never seen anyone be quite so pleased to have a virus!


Leave a Reply

