Chopped Liver – Prove It

Spooky!

Earlier on today I re-read some of the posts I wrote from when I did them on my iPhone in the hospital – and was shocked to see so many typos, missing words, wrong words – it’s a wonder you guys had a clue what I was on about.

Now if only I knew of a proofreader I would have been sorted…. one might have thought.

So what to call this post? I immediately thought of a song I hadn’t heard in years – Prove It by the classic CBGB’s band Television. And then literally 5 minutes ago Steve Lamacq on BBC6Music played that very song – spooky spooky spooky. But it does give me the opportunity to say, what a phenomenal debut album Marquee Moon is – an album that delivered so much and … promised so much for the future, but get this, I put it to you that never has a band promised so much from a debut album yet failed to follow it up so spectactularly. Everything that followed Marquee Moon was second rate, third rate twaddle.

Ok Stone Roses first album fans may be screaming – Second Coming anyone? And I may have to doff my cap to you on that.

Now, I have a bone to pick on you guys. Well, not you actually cos you are actually reading this, but a number of my readers who are, well, not reading anymore. I know my recent posts have been a bit mundane, a bit lacking in excitement, lacking in blood and gore, euphoria and disappointment – I am fast becoming an ordinary person (see yesterday’s post) who once had a liver transplant but who has nothing further of interest to report.

You are like Grand Prix spectators that’s what you are. Formula 1 is dreadfully boring – unless there are spectactular crashes. As it’s live, it gets great audiences cos we wouldn’t want to miss seeing the cars flying through the air and landing on the roll-bar and rolling 50 times into oncoming traffic.

Well get this gore fans. Tomorrow I have an ERCP. That stands for … eh… stands for eh… Endoscopy. So tomorrow I have to go to the hospital where they will stick this tube down my throat and then, bizarrely, disconnect the bile-bag I have been attached to since my operation. Endoscopies are not pleasant, gore fans – you’ll like it – there will be gagging, discomfort, much drowsiness – maybe enough to bring some of you back.

So, there you have it – tell all your friends there is a chance of trauma tomorrow.

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

15 Comments on “Chopped Liver – Prove It”

  1. Lou Says:

    I’m still here… as the GooGoo Dolls might have said (heheh)

    • davidkallin Says:

      Goo goo dolls – have to say they kinda passed me by – wouldn’t know them if I bumped into them in a dark alley – still thanks for being there – I was only fishing for compliments and I got a few bites to keep me going. (I’m So Vain).

  2. Kim Says:

    New reader here 😉 When I was first diagnosed, I got all kinds of fussed over. Right now its the calm before the storm. I’ve been listed for transplant, but am still pretty “stable” People don’t call or write anymore. I will be saying a prayer for you.

    • davidkallin Says:

      Welcome Kim. If there’s anything you’d like to know please ask. You have a lot of reading to catch up on – I will be asking questions on them in due course. I hope you get the call soon. David.

  3. hepababe Says:

    You must know I’m still here.Recalling your jokes and humour of old.Remember the “lucky”liver?I hope you got a happy one.Mine seems to be a bit truculent.Actually we all get a good one.Our bodies just accept them at different rates.Keep going with the walking and stand tall.(God,do I sound like your Mother?)You are a very lucky man to have so many good friends around you, but WE know that you know that.The gold medal goes to your wife though.

    • davidkallin Says:

      Elspeth – re your last sentence – I refer the honourable lady to the answer I gave to the (dishonourable) Graham above (or below – dep. how it appears).

  4. Graham Pyle Says:

    I had an endoscopy about 3 years ago when I had my ‘Troubles’ – (that’s Troubles as in medical not as in Northern Ireland).

    I think it’s called an endoscopy because they have to decide what ‘end’ to stick it in!! You’re right David, it’s not pleasant. They gave me the option of staying fully awake and spraying my throat with numbing spray and therefore being fully aware of this snake being forced down my gullit or to have an anaesthetic which makes you pretty drousy but not quite fully out for the count but you don’t know much about what’s happening. Guess which I chose?

    By the way, I know a proof reader. Shall I tell her that you are awaiting her call?!

  5. Tina Ravji Says:

    One of your very recent readers but I’m still reading. It’s always a joy to read your posts and great to read about your positive progress each day.
    Good luck with the ERCP tomorrow you’ll miss that very odd bile bag for a few days, Sunil did lol.
    Keep blogging 🙂

    • davidkallin Says:

      Thanks Tina – gotta keep blogging – getting back to normality is just as important as waiting on the call. I saw Sunil briefly yesterday – he’s looking good.

  6. Sawbofeller Says:

    I’m still here, wouldn’t miss your crap jokes for anything.

    Besides, I haven’t gloated about sending your boys homeward to think again last weekend.

    Back in the RFH clinic on Apr 26th, may see you there. Whatever happens, the Medical staff there are still fantastic and caring even two years post op.

    Try this before and during your endoscopy;

    Make a fist with your left hand, with your left thumb inside and squeeze your thumb as hard as you can. This managed to suppress my gag relex. Weird.

  7. Fiona Says:

    Still here. I’ve got 4,476 readers of my blog, of that only 13 own up to ‘following’ and of that only about 3 or 4 ‘comment’. Thats the thing about cyberspace – you don’t know who is silently watching… creepy!
    Re the endoscopy. I failed my first attempt. Gotta go back for them to try again. Despite being heavily sedated and totally out of it apparently I couldn’t tolerate the snake. Hope I was just gagging and not swearing or hitting anyone.


Leave a Reply

