Chopped Liver – C.R.E.E.P

Well I like that title – even though probably only @drobeirne and @markEChaCha will get it.

Y’see today was E.R.C.P. day.

E.R.C.P.

This is a long tube thing pushed down the throat that has a camera and a Swiss Army knife on the end. They don’t know what they might find when the probe down so they need to equal themselves with all the features of said knife – just in case (though I can’t imagine they have a need for the toothpick).

So this morning I was Nil By Mouth as I made my to the ‘ossy where they took my blood and fitted a cannula (that please you gore-mongers?) and I waited till they got the results before being admitted I’m to start the procedure.

You usually gag when the tube is inserted so I had prepared a particularly funny gag!

But then the doc who was go perform the procedure came up to me and announced that after checking my bloods they found that my clotting levels were at too dangerous a level – so performing the ERCP would create a high risk of internal bleeding and that under no circumstances at all would they even think about risking it.

So operation aborted. Bile bag still in situ – for another couple of weeks or so – and another day where I have learned just how sensitive the complete makeup of the body is – everything has to be spot on otherwise potential great dangers lurks.

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Chopped Liver – C.R.E.E.P”

  1. Fiona Says:

    Here are some of the lyrics to Radiohead’s CREEP:

    But I’m a creep
    I’m a weirdo
    What the hell am I doing here?
    I don’t belong here

    I don’t care if it hurts
    I want to have control
    I want a perfect body
    I want a perfect soul
    I want you to notice when I’m not around
    You’re so fucking special
    I wish I was special


Leave a Reply

