Chopped Liver – Reasons To Be Cheerful, Part III

Part I – I’ve had a liver transplant – successful too – my eyes are white!

Part II – I’ve got a loving wife and son – they care about me and I care about them – ’nuff said.

Part III – Aw c’mon, this is getting tough – look I’m still fed up over Monday’s unsuccessful endoscopy to remove my T-Tube. Another attempt is being rescheduled for May 17th – that is a long time.

A long time to have the inconvenience – but that’s not the end of the world.

But it is a long time to face the uncertainty – I mean they tried to access my T-Tube 4 times on Monday but couldn’t – so why should they be able to do it on May 17th? What will be different?

(Don’t even think about the 1 in 500).

And what are the alternatives? I have no idea. Except to use my powers of Guesstimation. That is, if they cant access it from within, then they will have to access it from… well, from outside! Another operation?

You see, I’m guessin’ – and guessin’ ain’t good. But this is going to pray on me now for the next 5-6 weeks – only natural.

And while I’m in doom & gloom mode – why not discuss this 1 in 500 die following an endoscopy statistic that is printed in the literature you are presented with as light reading matter. Now 500-1 shots do not normally come up – unless you’re on it each way but I’m not sure how that translates in this case. But let’s assume that this statistic is bourne out of the fact that for every 500 endoscopies performed every day? week? around the country – look, I know I said this in my previous post but it is an incredible statistic, is it not? There simply must be 500 done every week in this country alone – but I cant believe… ok enough – I’ve said it once – indeed I’ve said it twice – I’m only repeating it for the gore-mongers out there who were getting a bit bored with my “Everything’s Alright” blogs – that should leave you something to chew on – or indeed, to gore!

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “Chopped Liver – Reasons To Be Cheerful, Part III”

  1. Fiona Says:

    I wonder why the wait between each attempt is a month. My failed attempt was 8th March and still no date for second attempt. Due to see the endoscopist Friday. Shall I ask him on behalf of a ‘hypothetical’ person what they do if 3rd time lucky they still cant get biley-bag?

    • davidkallin Says:

      Yeah I guess you could ask. There has to be a few weeks between each attempt as the body has to recover/heal from each attempt – they tried four times in one endoscopy with me so that must have left a bit of scarring or bruising or whatever.

  2. hepababe Says:

    If it doesn’t work second time,you break a match!REMEMBER?

  3. Denise Says:

    I don’t think my stats are going to help. I had one a month for 7 consecutive months (varices banding) and then 3 and then 6 monthly thereafter for checkups. All this since January 2009 – it must be at least 12!!!!!

  4. Adam Says:

    Dunno whether to dwell on this or not, but reading your blog, I thought ‘this CANT be right’ and went to do a little research of my own and came up with this:

    http://www.medicine.ox.ac.uk/bandolier/booth/gi/endoharm.html

    I am pleased to report therefore that your potential survival rate has improved: based on the notion of diagnostic endoscopy (and not being an expert I am only assuming that is what you had) your chances of survival have improved from 499/500 to 11999/12000.

    There seems to be an issue of potential sickness of those receiving the treatment (referred to as morbidity) although, of course, this doesnt seem to take account of the fact that, given this is a fairly invasive form of diagnosis, the patient is probably pretty sick already (or at least potentially so) so the figures probably reflect that, rather than any increased risk of the endoscopy in and of itself.

    There… Hope you can now eat cakes at night in peace. Am back on 17th May and hope you are well enough by then to shout at me across a bridge table.

    • davidkallin Says:

      Dunno whether to further dwell on this by replying to yours – but kinda my point was either it’s a fact that it’s 1 in 500 or it’s not. If it is – then that is deeply troubling and there ought to be deaths on a weekly basis in each country it’s performed. Or it’s not a fact – in which case why scare the pants of the public by presenting them with this fact in a document they have to accept and sign?

      Either is a concern.

      Or shall we just not dwell on it?

      • Adam Says:

        Insurance companies eh? what a downer…

        Anyway I would rather dwell in a house by the sea…


  5. Having a Endoscopy surgery and colonscopy done today at 11am scared of being sedated is this safe?

    • davidkallin Says:

      Hi Samreen

      I have had many endoscopies and a few colonoscopies. The sedation is only to make you very drowsy and should be perfectly safe. Normally when I have had them, once I am sedated I feel very relaxed -it really helps. There will be nurses by you the whole time holding you and talking to you to make sure you are comfortable.

      These are extremely common procedures around the world so I wouldn’t worry about it all. I wish you well and hope you have a positive result.

      David


Leave a Reply

