Chopped Liver – Discharge

yuk.

Discharge.

No, not that kind of discharge. No, no, no. The kind I am referring to is the one where I am waiting for the nurse to visit – for the last time – after today I expect to be discharged by the nurse as my wound will have fully healed.

Glory be.

Tomorrow I have the latest attempt at sticking a tube down my throat to do something weird that may somehow remove the bile bag that I am so attached to. However, my cold (I think it may be a cold and not hay fever… still not sure) was a bit bad this morning in terms of a sore throat. Now sticking a tube down an inflamed throat may not be the best idea in the world but I tell you what, I’m saying nuffin’ ‘cos I want that tube out.

Oh and I have now started my Tinzaparin injections as part of my blood-control system – I come off Warfarin prior to the endoscopy and go on these injections for a week or so. These injections are administered to the stomache by the way.

No problem, I’ll just ask the nurse to do it when she somes round on her daily visi… hang on a mo, she’s coming today to discharge me – so who’s going to inject the stuff into my stomache?

Answer: 3 people.

Me, myself and I.

And I started yesterday – under supervision. And I did today’s on my own without supervision. Now I know some of you are thinking – big deal, people with diabetes have to do it all the time. Well my response to that is – that’s them, and this is me, and I don’t care who else has to do it – I don’t like needles. I don’t like people sticking needles into me. And I certainly don’t like having to stick needles into myself – but I am doing – so n’yah.

Tonight is bridge night. And I am going to drive there myself. Landmark.

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

2 Comments on “Chopped Liver – Discharge”


  1. I have to say, the moment at which I understood the gravity of being a post-operative was when attempting to turn in my Royal Free bed-come-hovel in a vain attempt at regaining comfort. The actuality: bursting a novel stomach, discharge bag – a delightful shallow paddle.

    Oh dear.

  2. davidkallin Says:

    Hmmm, that is the kind of discharge I was not intending to write about. Although I have to confess I did have one or two “accidents” at home as the bag got just a little elderly. I can confirm, however, that bile does not stain. It simply washes out. Now who’da thunk that?

    A chicken tikka massala will stain forever – but a bag o’bile? No. And which do we eat?


Leave a Reply

