Chopped Liver – Let England Shake

I thought I’d come out in support of the stunning new album by PJ Harvey called Let England Shake … by letting myself shake.

One of the side effects of the anti-rejection medication I have to take is that my fingers shake and I can get headaches – a slight alteration of the dosage can usually help the situation.

But that would mean a visit back to the ‘ossy for more bloods, wait hours for the results only for them to tell you they’re fine.

Anyway I’ve already been to the ‘ossy today – to the anti-coag unit who informed me that I need to increase my Warfarin dose. It was only after I left that I started the shaking. I phoned them up and they suggested a rest with a couple of paracetamol. So that’s what I’m doing. I’m in the bed, snuggling up to the two little pills – doesn’t seem to be having any effect.

I must say I haven’t been 100% since I left the ‘ossy at the weekend – kind of like, not bad enough go be kept in but not good enough to go about my normal business. I’ll see how I am in the morning.

I have to keep reminding myself that this is a long slow process and despite appearances I may not be able to do as much as quickly as I want or as I could before.

It’s something that people need to be realise – I may look great (Aw shucks) but I am still at the early stages of recovery from a major op and a massive re-adjustment that my body is having to make internally.

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Chopped Liver – Let England Shake”

  1. Adam Michaelson Says:

    You and I have known each other not far short of 20 years now (which is pretty scary in itself…) In that time, you have been a permanent fan of Polly Harvey and I have been permanently bamboozled by her particular brand of Row (as in rhymes with HOW, nothing to do with a seat at football or an afternoon on the lake at Ally Pally). This album is no exception. She has permanently been in the category of artists I ought to like but just dont do it for me (most notable probably being Radiohead). You will have to explain to me at some stage why I shoudnt regard her as somewhat overblown snotrock…

    Am back next tuesday afternoon (for the rest of the year pretty much) and would be nice to see you. Am I to bring cakes or are you over that phase of having to eat a lot now?

    • davidkallin Says:

      First of all, if you have known me for nigh on 20 years you should know NOT to ask me if I like cakes!

      Re PJ, I’m with you on a lot of it – I’ve wandered in and out with her – she has had great highlights and a few unfathomables – the debut album DRY is an absolte killer, as is Stories from the city etc. and the new I think is really good, but she has maintained that air of freshness and relevance by being so varied, unpredictable and out of time – not musically out of time y’unnerstan, but more, out of the times. Her onetime “mate” Nick Cave has faired far better in my eyes (or ears, rather).


Leave a Reply

