Chopped Liver – A Forest

A Family Holiday.

Less than 4 months after the big op, B, Wee D and I are spending a few days down in the South Coast – not too far from the hosp – just in case I need to get there – but far enough to be in the countryside, or on the beach (should we decide to make sandcastles in the cold and rain).

And today we walked around a 200-acre Gardens in the New Forest, with added narrow-gauge steam train. Now, only a few weeks ago I was struggling to even walk. A trip to the local shops sometimes had to be abandoned – but that was just the scar healing, and so, once healed, I am walking freely again.

Bizarre pic we took on M25 on the way to the South

Not only that, but after 5 or 6 hours of walking (with rests), both B and Wee D were complaining they were tired, sore feet, had enough… but I was still striding on. Normal service had been resumed.

And I feel great. And you know, the weather can be sunny or rainy, it doesn’t bother me – it’s great to be out doing the things I enjoy with the people I enjoy.

Where to then tomorrow? Oh there’s so much to see down here, we’ll enjoy whatever we do. I fancy a ride on an old open top bus – what about you, Wee D?

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Chopped Liver – A Forest”

  1. Denise Says:

    This is so encouraging to read – but I’m still waiting!

    • davidkallin Says:

      Oh I know Denise – I feel for you. But do take heart. Don’t give up – your time will come, and when it does, you can look forward to great times very soon after. I sometimes have to remind myself that I’ve had the op!

  2. phil Says:

    Glad to read you’re enjoying yourself-hope the weather picks up for you.

    On an unrelated note, how are you coping with the medication? How many pills a day, do you need to take? And is it difficult to remember when to take them?

  3. davidkallin Says:

    Hi Phil, thanks for your comments. The weather did not pick up this morning – so we decided to go to Arundel Castle – but when we got there we it was closed (every Monday – now why did I not think of that?) – but we had a great day – walking around as the rain eased and the sun struggled to come out – great exercise for me.

    To answer your questions – I take the following medication (tho’ the does is varied every now and again) – Prograf anti-rejection (5mg twice a day), MMF – kidney-related (I think) – also anti-rejection 500 mg twice a day. Prednisilone – steroid – down to 5mg once a day (I should be coming off that soon). I take Ranitidene twice a day for antacid. Magnesium 3 times a day for I don’t know what. And warfarin 4mg a day for blood thinning to prevent any further clotting.

    I try to walk slowly and on even surfaces to avoid rattling.

    One thing about Liver problems, is that your memory can get affected – so I do sometimes forget to take them for an hour or so – but so far not missed a dose completely. It’s a good idea to have 2 lots of the pills – one to leave at home and one to take with you wherever you go – that way, if your plans change while you are out you can still take your meds at the appropriate time…

    …if you remember.

  4. phil Says:

    Hi David,

    Thanks for the answer. By my reckoning that’s 10 pills a day; a lot to remember. May I also ask if you’ve any side effects from taking them?

    • davidkallin Says:

      Side-effects?I think they probably vary with the individual. But you’re asking me for mine, so – the main side-effects I get are a shaking/trembling of the fingers and sometimes mild headaches. I believe the are common side-effects from the Prograf med. I’m not aware of any others (tho’ they do say your memory can be affected!)

  5. Ken Says:

    Great to hear, Dave.

  6. phil Says:

    Hi David,

    The trembling fingers must be annoying but hopefully they occur only occasionally; similarly the headaches. Still a small price to pay in the grand scheme of things. Hope everything else is going ok following your op.


Leave a Reply

