Chopped Liver – Little Things

“Little things you do
Make me glad
I’m in love with you”

For the second time in around 6 months, B and Wee D have gone off and left me. It’s B’s niece’s (well, mine also to be accurate) wedding in Israel on Thursday.

I should be out there with them, but I can’t. Was advised not to fly… just yet. Good advice, I think when I consider the continued seeping from the alien stitch in my wound trying to be expelled by my faultering defence mechanism, it is probably the right decision.

And then when you add in the seemingly endless battle to control the clotting of my blood by regular increasing of the dosage of Warfarin I am taking – up to 7mg a day now – BUT the good news on that front is that my INR went up to 2.1 (finally!!) which meant I could stop sticking needles into my stomach. Bonus.

So I am on my own as of a few hours ago – lordy help the neighbours, as I have turned up the amp on my hi-fi system and am now blasting out noise from my seldom-used vinyl collection – sounds great.

Sorry – that previous sentence should have read – I am really sad and am missing my wife and son immeasurably already, and just how am I going to get through the week?

But I guess it’s quite a significant event for me too – it is a week I’ll be on my own for the first time since my transplant – first time alone – just me and my new liver – nice – sweet – time for bonding.

So I come home from the airport drop-off and I switch on the telly to watch the tennis – Nadal v Djokovic – theyre not bad players – and I decide to make myself more comfortable by putting my slippers (not cool, but a fact nonetheless) and when I get to my bedroom, there on my pillow are a packet of Thai crackers, a bar of Cadbury Dairy Milk Caramel chocolate and a pack of Tunnock’s Caramel wafers. (Hey I didn’t realise till I wrote this that my surprise gift was so top heavy on the caramel side – but, hey, caramel is good).

Now what a nice touch that is. Only someone who knows me well would know exactly what to leave for me as a surprise gift, eh… and now you also, of course, as you are reading this.

As I said,

“Little things you do
Make me glad
I’m in love with you”.

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

