Chopped Liver – I Believe I Can Fly

So here I sit in the departures lounge Terminal 1 Heathrow Airport ready to fly off to join my family in Israel.

This is a significant day. I missed out on this trip 12 months ago as I didn’t want to come off the transplant list that I was at the top of – oh the glory days of being top of list) but since then I have been given the Gift Of Life in what now seems like the blink of an eye.

I marvel at the surgeon who performed the operation. I marvel at the consultants and the support team.

I thought I would be nervous about this day. I worried about the effects of flying in a pressurised cabin at 33,000 feet whilst on Warfarin – I wouldn’t worry about that says my doc – youll be safer than those who are not on Warfarin ‘cos your blood is thinner so no chance of a thrombosis. Fair enough.

I’ve stopped worrying.

I’m seeing this as an achievement. A personal achievement. An achievement for the medical team.

So with that, I would like to wish those of you who believe a Merry Xmas, those of you who believe a Happy Chanukah, this of you don’t believe, a Happy New Year but most of all – to this of you on transplant waiting list – be patient, try not to worry, the outlook is a positive one.

And spare a thought for the family of the unfortunate donor – who have given the ultimate gift – The Gift of Life.

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Chopped Liver – I Believe I Can Fly”

  1. fionafrank Says:

    fantastic….enjoy, give them my love!

  2. Denise Says:

    Have a great time.


Leave a Reply

