Chopped Liver – One Day Like This

Throw those curtains wide!
One day like this a year’d see me right.

So today is me and my new liver’s 1st birthday.

A momentous day.

And y’know, me and me new liver – we’ve got on just fine.

Just fine.

No arguments.

No fuss.

Just get up each day and get on with it.

I will spare a few thoughts today – to the donor’s family. They are still unknown to me physically – and that’s fine – but spiritually, they are with me – all the way.

I will spare a few thoughts to the remarkable and fantastic team at The Royal Free – the surgeon (Mr. Sharma – who I’m not even sure I really met – but who knows me inside and out!), the consultants, the coordinators, the whole team – too many to mention, too few to forget).

By coincidence, my mum is coming down to us today too – so that’ll be nice for her to share in the celebrations.

I feel buzzin’ today. Like a buzzin’ fly.

So,

Throw those curtains wide!
One day like this a year’d see me right!

Explore posts in the same categories: Liver Transplant

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Chopped Liver – One Day Like This”

  1. Fiona Says:

    Happy Birthday David’s liver.

  2. Ken Says:

    Good thoughts Dave. The liver may be a year old but it still hasn’t seen its first cuparoonie.


Leave a Reply

